Welcome to Boat-Her!

I am the Social Media Manager and Default Marketing Person at a InterMarine, one of South Florida’s largest boat dealers. This is my personal boating blog.

I love being on the water. I feel it “fixes my head” when I’m cranky, sad, or feeling stuck. However, I am not a boater – YET. I get on a boat whenever I can and I am learning a lot, but I still have a long way to go. I don’t feel confident docking a nice vessel, but I feel more comfortable “cutting” the waves when I’m running than when I first started.

I began my employment at InterMarine back in January 2012. A feminist at heart, I could not help but notice early on that very few women are actively involved in the entire boating experience. I’m not saying there aren’t female boaters, because there are. And I’m not saying there aren’t women in boats, because there are. What I am saying is that there is just a huge gap in the level of involvement and the LEADERSHIP in boating that is taken by women.

The marine industry is still a male-dominated industry. There are gems like Madame Anette Benneteau Roux, chairperson of the successful Groupe Benneteau, and my understanding is that there are a lot more women boaters in states up North. But for the most part, here in South Florida, boating is more of a male-hands-on experience. I’d like to encourage more women to get involved in the art of boating and to take charge of their vessels.

Let’s go Boating!

Leave a Reply

